The provenance of the electoral district of Williamstown extends back to the establishment of the first free and independent Victorian Parliament in 1856. The opening of this first parliament was signified by a celebratory sounding of canons on the Williamstown coast. It is one of only three Victorian electorates that have been contested at every election since this time.

Along with its historical virtues, the district encompasses a diverse constituency of heritage areas and newer developing suburbs in the rich mix of business, culture, and community that constitutes Melbourne’s modern inner west. With a population of around 60,000, the district extends across the suburbs of Williamstown, Newport, Spotswood, Seddon, Yarraville, Kingsville, South Kingsville, Altona North and parts of Brooklyn.